Gluten Free Diet

Gluten Free Diet

 

What does a Gluten-Free Diet Entail?

Gluten is found in items that contain wheat, barley, and rye.  It can also be found in oats that have been cross-contaminated.  Knowing this can be somewhat helpful when figuring out which food items may or may not be appropriate if you are on a gluten-free diet.

Unfortunately, there are also many sources of hidden gluten, such as in some sauces and salad dressings.  Although manufacturers are required to disclose ingredients such as peanuts and wheat (the latter of which contains gluten), they do not need to disclose barley, rye, and the other hidden sources of gluten.  Not surprisingly, there are also no requirements for manufacturers to list the word, “gluten,” on their labels.  You have to learn how to read food labels properly to identify possible sources of gluten.

What is interesting to note is that the term “gluten free” can be used in the U.S.A. when a product contains less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.  This is the level found to be where most celiacs do not experience symptoms or experience further damage to their intestines.

Here is a list of some naturally-occurring foods that are allowed in a gluten-free diet:
• Fruits and veggies
• Eggs
• Meat, fish and poultry that has not been coated with bread crumbs or made in batter.
• Most dairy
• Unprocessed seeds
• Unprocessed beans
• Unprocessed nuts
• Amaranth
• Buckwheat
• Quinoa
• Some rice
Here are foods that you can almost guarantee are made out of wheat, and therefore contain gluten:
• Flour (white, whole wheat, bread)
• Pasta
Here are other terms that you may not recognize but most certainly mean the presence of gluten:
• Kamut
• Bulgur
• Spelt
• Durum
• Malt
• Semolina
• Seitan
• Triticale
• Einkorn
Gluten can be found in a number of foods, including the following:
• Broths
• Canned soups
• Some candies and chocolates
• Soya sauce
• Hot dogs
• Processed foods
• Some medications, vitamins, and supplements
• Cereal
Of course, these are not comprehensive lists, but it gives you an idea of how many food items contain gluten.  Fortunately, though, there are still many food items that do not contain gluten, or are below the threshold of 20 ppm.  The surest way to find out if gluten is in a food item is to contact the manufacturer directly.
The key is to be patient as you learn and build your knowledge of what you can and cannot eat.  It is normal to make some mistakes when beginning to follow a gluten-free diet.  However, you can take comfort knowing that your health is only going to get better here on out.

Seitan
 
– Seitan — Wheat gluten that is also called seitan: wheat meat, mock duck, gluten meat, or only gluten or in other words it is simply a food made from gluten which is the main protein of wheat.

 

 

 

 

Wheat gluten Kamut– Kamut — Kamut is a Trademark and is actually Khorasan wheat, also called Triticum turanicum and is a wheat species.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Buckwheat flower seed– Buckwheat — Buckwheat is not really related to wheat because it is not a grass. It is more related to sorrel, knotweed because the seeds are eaten. It seems that buckwheat was cultivated in Southeast Asia and later spread to Tibet and Central Asia and from there to Europe and the Middle East.

 

 

**************************************************************************

gluten free kitchen

Whats the lowdown on a gluten-free diet?

Why Gluten Free Diet?
People who cannot eat gluten are people with celiac disease.

This is a problem for a family that one person cannot eat gluten whereas the others are without problems.
The Chef in that case the Mom have to prepare two different types of food or the family members have to coincide that the whole family eats gluten free.
The problem in case they eat two different diets one with gluten and the other without gluten, special care of cross contamination has to be taken.

The person with celiac disease otherwise can have lots of pain and discomfort in the digestive tract or even diarrhea.
Coeliac disease or also called celiac disease or sometimes celiac sprue is according Wikipedia.org an autoimmune disorder of the small intestine that occurs in genetically predisposed people of all ages from middle infancy onward.
People with celiac disease may have problems with vitamin deficiencies because the small intestine has a reduced ability to proper absorb nutrients from food.
Even so the disease is caused by a reaction of wheat proteins, it is not the same as wheat allergy.
In general it is a serious problem because it involves also social and culture issues. The Roman Catholic doctrine states that for a valid Eucharist, the bread to be used at Mass must be made from wheat.
In 2002 the church approved German-made low-gluten hosts which meet all the catholic requirements but it contains still a percentage of gluten.
But it is still hard for people with the coeliac disease. In the year 2004 the Church approved extremely low-gluten hosts available in the United States, Italy and Australia.
People with the coeliac disease in the Jewish community have permission to stay free of any matzo that is not gluten-free, when celebrating the Jewish festival of Pesach (Passover).

I recently communicated with a colleague who expressed interest in learning more about a gluten-free diet.

I recently communicated with a colleague who expressed interest in learning more about a gluten-free diet. Many of us may have read about the term, “gluten-free” in the popular press or had conversations with our friends or colleagues about this, So, to clarify this, what follows are some basic facts.

A gluten-free diet is a diet that excludes the protein gluten. Gluten is found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and a cross between wheat and rye called triticale.

A gluten-free diet is primarily used to treat celiac disease. Gluten causes inflammation in the small intestines of people with celiac disease. Eating a gluten-free diet helps people with celiac disease control their signs and symptoms and prevent complications.

Some people who don’t have celiac disease also may have symptoms when they eat gluten, however. This is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Initially, following a gluten-free diet may be frustrating. Switching to a gluten-free diet is a big change, and like anything new, it takes some getting used to. But with time, patience and creativity, you’ll find there are many foods that you already eat that are gluten-free and you will find substitutes for gluten-containing foods that you can enjoy.

It may help to try to focus on all the foods you can eat instead, however. You may be pleasantly surprised to realize how many gluten-free products, such as bread and pasta, are now available.

If you’re just starting with a gluten-free diet, it’s a good idea to consult a dietitian who can answer your questions and offer advice about how to avoid gluten while still eating a healthy, balanced diet.

Many healthy and delicious foods are naturally gluten-free such as beans, seeds and nuts in their natural, unprocessed form; fresh eggs, fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated), fruits and vegetables and most dairy products.

Avoid all food and drinks containing barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley, rye, triticale (a cross between wheat and rye) and wheat.

Cross-contamination occurs when gluten-free foods come into contact with foods that contain gluten. It can happen during the manufacturing process, for example, if the same equipment is used to make a variety of products.

Foods may also be labeled as “gluten-free.” If a product carries a gluten-free label, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) requires that the product contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Be aware that products labeled “wheat-free” may still contain gluten.

Be careful about eating out at restaurants. Ask restaurant staff members if they have choices that are truly gluten-free, including being prepared so as to avoid cross-contamination.

People with celiac disease who eat a gluten-free diet experience fewer symptoms and complications of the disease. People with celiac disease must eat a strictly gluten-free diet and must remain on the diet for the remainder of their lives. In some severe cases, a gluten-free diet alone can’t stop the symptoms and complications of celiac disease, and additional treatment is needed.

People who follow a gluten-free diet may have low levels of certain vitamins and nutrients in their diets. Ask your dietitian to review your diet to see that you’re getting enough of these key nutrients: iron, calcium, fiber, thiamin, riboflavin, niacin and folate.

If you accidentally eat a product that contains gluten, you may experience abdominal pain and diarrhea. Some people experience no signs or symptoms after eating gluten, but this doesn’t mean it’s not damaging their small intestines. Even trace amounts of gluten in your diet may be damaging, whether or not they cause signs or symptoms. Over time, not following a gluten-free diet if you have celiac disease can lead to serious complications including small intestinal cancer.

Mark Mahoney, Ph.D., has been a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist for over 28 years and completed graduate studies in Public Health at Columbia University. He currently serves on the Parent Advisory Council at the University of North Florida, the advisory arm of the school’s Parents Association.

 

curation

 

Leave a Comment





*